Red Velvet Cake

So this happened. Today is my lil brother Vitthal’s birthday. Guessed what that demands for? A cake of course!!

My previous post on Flour Buttercream was created for this very reason. Remembering that it stays good for 2-3 days, I knew I had to get it all together as early as possible since I’m all tied up with school work.

I made the cake day before, and frosted the cake today. Early morning, around 7:00, I got dressed for college and carried the cake with me down to the bus waiting for the entourage.

You see, the entire family and company were on their way to Mangalore for a long weekend. I was going to join them, but I had too much work with my college fest coming up and my notes being left behind. I couldn’t afford to miss college since we have a 95% compulsory attendance.

So at 7:00, I got dressed, took my school bag and the cake and went down. Hoping to surprise my brother, I stood and waited… and waited… and waited. Finally, at 7:45, he came and we quickly cut the cake and I rushed off to college.

Due to this, I got no pictures of the cake OR my brother 😦 So I guess you’ll just have to take my word for it when I say that the cake was rich and beautiful enough to cry over.


The red velvet really IS like velvet! It’s buttery and red and simply regal. The buttercream really did its job and was the perfect companion for the cake.

Red Velvet Cake

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1.5 tbsp red food coloring
  • 1 cup butermilk
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Flour Buttercream

Procedure:

  1. Prepare your pans. I used two 9.5 inch round pans. Butter it and dust with flour. Tap off excess.
  2. Mix cocoa, red color and 1/4 cup butermilk and set aside.
  3. Cream the buter, oil, sugar and vanilla together. Add eggs and cream again.
  4. Add the cocoa mixture and mix well.
  5. Fold in the flour, salt and buttermilk.
  6. Preheat the oven to 180­°C.
  7. In a small bowl, add vinegar to soda. Pour the bubbling mixture into the bater and fold in very gently.
  8. Divide batter into pans and bake for 25 to 30 minutes.
  9. Let it cool completely.
  10. Sandwich the cakes with the help of frosting and then cover the cake in frosting.
  11. Your cake is ready to be served.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

