Flour Buttercream Frosting

GUYS!!! THIS IS MAGIC!! I AM NOT JOKING!

We all know it takes a million cups of butter to make buttercream right? What if I tell you that all it takes is 100 grams of butter to make enough frosting for a single layered cake?

AAAAAH!! I’m flying among angels!! For me, making frosting is the ultimate bane. Of my eight attempts till date, all eight have failed. Boo-hoo!!

I came across this one on an Indian blogger’s site. She says she got the idea from The Pioneer Woman. Frosting made with flour? Naturally, one would be curious. This led me to dig deeper and I realized that many had dubbed it “the best frosting ever”.  This made me all the more interested in making it so I set about to stock up my supplies.

The results do NOT disappoint you!! For me, after 8 failed attempts at frosting, this REALLY WAS the best frosting ever!!! It was miraculous to see a couple tablespoons of milk, flour and sugar transform into a heaping, fluffy mass of buttercream.

It was beautiful, light and airy. It wouldn’t even be a an exaggeration if I said I cried a little!

Now if you’re as curious as I was, scroll down for the recipe. If you want it with pictures, refer to Aarthi’s post, because my camera wasn’t with me when I made this.

Flour Buttercream Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 tbsp all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 100 grams butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence

Procedure:

  1. Mix the flour, sugar and milk in a small saucepan until there are no lumps. Heat the mixture and keep stirring until it thickens. Stir in the vanilla.
  2. Transfer it to a medium sized bowl and whip it using an electric beater until it cools down. (This step is important because this is where the air builds up to make it light)
  3. Once cooled, add a tablespoon of butter and continue whipping. Make sure that you have completely creamed the butter before adding in the next tablespoon.
  4. Continue whipping one tablespoon of butter into the mixture at a time.
  5. Once all the butter has been incorporated, whip it one last time to give it that extra fluffiness.

NOTE: Make sure that your mixture has cooled completely before adding the butter. Otherwise, the butter will melt and you wont get a frosting of any kind.

The frosting will stay good for 2-3 days in the refrigerator.


Voila! Your beautiful fool-proof buttercream is ready.

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

